New York DUI & DWI Defense Attorneys
Serving Clients in New York & New Jersey Since 1930
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious criminal offense in New York. Any amount of alcohol or dosage of a drug can negatively affect your coordination, judgment, and ability to operate a vehicle. If you are arrested and prosecuted for a DWI, you may be subject to criminal conviction, jail, have you driver’s license suspended, pay heavy fines, have your vehicle impounded or forfeited, an ignition interlock device put on your car, and suffer other consequences. Additionally, these convictions are very serious, and will go on your record.
If you or a loved one has been charged with drunk driving in New York, our DUI attorneys team at the Law Offices of Iannuzzi and Iannuzzi is ready to help you avoid conviction and the serious penalties that come along with this crime. We can thoroughly assess your case, listen to your concerns, and figure out all your legal options to either get your entire case dismissed, obtain a not-guilty verdict, or get your charges or penalties reduced.
New York DUI Laws & Penalties
If you are caught driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least .08 percent—or .04 percent if you possess a commercial driver’s license (CDL)—you will be charged with a DWI in New York. If you drive with a BAC of .18 percent or higher, you will be charged with aggravated DWI, which will result in harsher penalties, if convicted.
Even if your BAC wasn’t at the legal limit, but between more than .05 and less than .07 percent, you can be charged with driving while ability impaired by alcohol (DWAI-Alcohol). Lastly, you could also be charged with DWAI for being under the influence of a single drug (DWAI-Drug) or a combination of both alcohol and drugs (DWAI-Combination).
The following are the first-time penalties for DWI offenses in New York:
- DWI, DWAI-Drug, or DWAI-Combination – Punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year, driver’s license revocation for at least six months, and a fine no more than $1,000.
- Aggravated DWI – Punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year, driver’s license revocation for at least one year, and a fine not exceeding $2,500.
- DWAI-Alcohol – Punishable by a maximum jail term of 15 days, driver’s license revocation for up to 90 days, and a fine not exceeding $500.
DWI convictions in New York can also result in your having a permanent criminal record, and possibly cause the loss of your job or future employment. If you are a commercial driver, you could lose your privilege to drive commercially for at least one year.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today
If you are facing DUI/DWI charges in New York, contact the Law Offices of Iannuzzi and Iannuzzi for representation. Our firm understands the legal process involved in these types of cases, and we have worked with many clients to help them get the most favorable results possible, depending on their individual circumstances. Don’t face this serious charge alone—get qualified legal help. We’re available for you any time of the day or night—any day of the year.
Call 212-227-9595 to discuss your case with our legal team right away.